Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C77
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, business, tax and legal records, primarily 1848-1890, of various members of the Cook and Luttrell Families of Culpeper and Rappahannock Counties, Virginia. The Cook family correspondence is concentrated between 1855 and 1858 and discusses the migration of several members of the family to western Virginia and Missouri, courtship and marriage, farming, and detailed accounts of family visits. The Luttrell correspondence, 1874-1890, contains letters to Mollie Luttrell...
Dates:
1848-1890
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...
Dates:
1821-1896; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af25 Oversize
Scope and Contents
Account book, 1816-1875, of Jonah H. Lupton, merchant and farmer. Included in the volume are notes on livestock, home remedies, and the birth of children. Also included are Civil War notes, 1861-1862, concerning feeding the troops, the Union occupation of Winchester on 12 March 1862, and Jackson and his men.
Dates:
1816-1875
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 L97
Scope and Contents
Personal papers and business accounts; 1820-1900; of the Luttrell and Cooke families of Rappahannock and Culpeper Counties. Includes correspondence (personal and business) between Luttrell and Cooke families, the Garth family, Ficklen family, and family in West Virginia. Papers discuss Buchanan's inauguration, Sons of Temperance, and the difficulties of a doctor trying to establish a practice at Bridgewater, Va. Also includes letters; 1853-1859; from family in Missouri which discuss living...
Dates:
1820-1900
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Sp8
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1861-1887, of the Sprinkel family of Harrisonburg, Virginiaa. Includes letters, 1870-1887, of Charles A. Sprinkel, his wife Sallie Sprinkel, and his sons C. Carter Sprinkel and Walter Nelson Sprinkel as well as letters of C. A. Sprinkel & Co., Harrisonburg, dealers in agricultural implements; and accounts of Sprinkel & Bowman, Harrisonburg. Several letters concern attempted settlement of a tobacco claim.
Dates:
1861-1887
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am11 Oversize
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1857-1872, of William J. Pendleton, physician, at Cuckoo, Louisa County, Va. Also includes accounts of a merchant, farms and labor accounts, and memoranda of a school operated by the Pendleton family.
Dates:
1857-1872
